Week 3- Digital Photography- Beginnings

In week 3 we began to learn about digital photography and the basic workings of a camera. After our lecture I looked at the documentary,‘The Genius of Photography’. Our lecturer brought the documentary to the classes attention and I am really glad I took time out to view it. The documentary really opened my eyes to how accessible Photography is when compared to the time it really took off in the early 20th Century. It also occurred to me that anyone can take a really brilliant photograph. Practice, practice and more practice seems like the order the day aligned with a basic understanding of the principles that make a good photo.

Displaying Depth of Field

Displaying Depth of Field

In class we discussed Aperture and Depth of Field (DOF). With Aperture it is the opening in the window of the lens that light through. An F-Stop tells the user how open or closed the window of the lens is. The smaller the window the deeper the DOF (higher F-Stops) is allowing more of the scene in focus; like a photograph with the subject being a safari wide shot of the Savannah. Whereas with a large window (lower F-Stops) is creates a shallower DOF; this could be used for a portrait photograph.
The class was given a task to photograph any particular subject but to show that you have an understanding of the aperture. My photographs subjects were a leaf, a bush and a bridge. The leaf being in the foreground; the bush in the middle ground and the bridge being in the background. By using a lower amount of F-stops I was able to focus on the leaf in the foreground and blur the bush and bridge in  the middle and background of the image. I was very impressed with this photo as I had never attempted anything like this before I undertook the task. I took me a while to get the right shot but when I did I just knew it was the one I wanted to publish in my Digital Photography Portfolio.

Leave a Reply

